Ambassadors Fund For Cultural Preservation (Large Grants) U.S. Department of State In Nigeria 2020

The U.S. Mission to Nigeria of the U.S. Department of State is is accepting project applications for the 2020 Large Grants Program of the U.S. Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation (AFCP). Administration of this program will be subject to the availability of funds for fiscal year (FY) 2020. The deadline for submitting project abstracts to the Center is December 1, 2019. For abstracts that advance to Round 2, the submission deadline for full project applications is February 1, 2020.

Purpose of the Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation (AFCP) and Background:  The AFCP Large Grants Program supports the preservation of major ancient archaeological sites, historic buildings and monuments, and major museum collections that are accessible to the public and protected by law in the host country.

Cultural heritage endures as a reminder of the contributions and historical experiences of humanity.  By taking a leading role in efforts to preserve cultural heritage, the U.S. demonstrates its respect for other cultures.  AFCP projects strengthen civil society, encourage good governance, and promote political and economic stability around the world.

The Department of State established the AFCP at the request of the Congress, reflected in the Conference Report on the Departments of Commerce, Justice, and State, the Judiciary, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act of 2001 (P. L. 106-553).
  1. Award Information 
Funding Instrument Type:  Grant
Floor on Amount of Individual Awards:  US $200,000 per project
Ceiling on Amount of Individual Awards: US $800,000 per project

Funding Areas:  The Department of State supports projects to preserve cultural heritage in the following three areas
  1. Preventive conservation (addressing conditions that damage or threaten the site)
  2. Stabilization (reducing the physical disturbance [settling, collapse, etc.] of a site)
  3. Conservation (addressing damage or deterioration to a collection or sites)
  4. Consolidation (connecting or reconnecting elements of a site)
  5. Anastylosis (reassembling a site from its original parts)
  6. Restoration (replacing missing elements to recreate the original appearance of a site, usually appropriate only with fine arts, decorative arts, and historic buildings)
Funding Priorities:  The AFCP will recommend for funding those proposals that include project activities in adherence to the following guidelines and to international standards for the preservation of cultural heritage. These activities may include:
  1. Directly support U.S. treaty or bilateral agreement obligations, such as cultural
property protection agreements;
  1. S. Embassy Integrated Country Strategy (ICS) goals
  2. Disaster risk reduction for cultural heritage in seismically active and other disaster-prone areas
  3. Post-disaster cultural heritage recovery
  4. Preserve World Heritage sites
  5. Partner, connect with or feed into other ECA programs
Sites and Objects that have a Religious Connection: The establishment clause of the U.S.
Constitution permits the government to include religious objects and sites within an aid program under certain conditions. For example, an item with a religious connection (including a place of worship) may be the subject of a cultural preservation grant if the item derives its primary significance and is nominated solely on the basis of architectural, artistic, historical, or other cultural (not religious) criteria.

Cost Sharing and Other Forms of Cost Participation: There is no minimum or maximum percentage of cost participation required for this competition. When an applicant offers cost sharing, it is understood and agreed that the applicant must provide the amount of cost sharing as stipulated in its application and later included in an approved agreement. The applicant will be responsible for tracking and reporting on any cost share or outside funding, which is subject to audit per 2 CFR 200. Cost sharing may be in the form of allowable direct or indirect costs.
  • Eligibility Information:
Eligible project applicants include reputable and accountable non-commercial entities, such as non-governmental organizations, museums, ministries of culture, or similar institutions and organizations that are able to demonstrate that they have the requisite experience and capacity to manage projects to preserve cultural heritage.  All applicants must register for a DUNS number which is a unique nine-digit identification number.  DUNS Number assignment is free for organizations required to register with the federal government for grants. Begin the process here:  Registration in the System for Award Management (SAM) is also required:

Application Deadline: 01 December, 2019.

For more information: VISIT HERE TO APPLY

Post a Comment